Tuesday, August 14, 2007

The cheese edition


I read this and got a headache, a stomachache, and a fear for my future consumption. I hit Google to see if this was some kind of sick joke. Because if so? NOT FUNNY. Do not joke about cheese, my man.

Sadly, it wasn't a joke. Lots of cheeses are made with a veal byproduct called rennet. I am deeply disturbed and depressed and a little bit nauseous, because I frackin LOVE CHEESE. But I don't want to eat things that involve killing animals, and rennet comes from dead baby cows. The only thing I ask people not to eat around me is veal, because veal makes me sad. Turns out that my beloved snack of cheddar and Triscuits? Not vegetarian. I am devastated. I may never be able to eat out again.


This is as bad as when I found out Oreos had lard in them, and I couldn't eat them for years. Every time I went to the grocery store, I'd check to see if the ingredients had changed. And lo, one day, one glorious day: there was no lard in Oreos!! There was exultation in the cookie aisle. There were milk and cookies for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

And now, I must find a cheese made without rennet.

Damn you, Darby Conley!!


Anonymous said...

FYI -- Rennet is merely an enzyme, and not necessarily something from baby cows. Some cheesemakers use vegetable rennet. (These might not be at your local big box grocery store, though.) And there are types of cheese that don't use any rennet, mostly soft cheeses, I think. Good luck! I'm a big huge cheese fan, too.

Jezebella said...

Unfortunately, most cheese labels just say "enzymes" or "rennet" without identifying the source.